Report on the 14th World Congress

Marrakech, 29 August – September 2 2005

HM King Mohammed VI message to 14th IEA congress
The Fourteenth Word Congress of the International Economic Association (IEA) took place in Marrakech (August 29- September 2, 2005).

Mr. Fathallah Oualalou, Minister of Finance and Privatisation, President of the Moroccan Economic Association and Chairman of the Organizing Committee, has been responsible for the logistics and successful implementation of the Congress.

On behalf of His Majesty King Mohammed VI, Mr. Abdelaziz Meziane Belfkih, adviser to the King, welcomed the congress participants and delivered the Royal Message.

The opening session was delivered by Janos Kornai, President of the International Economic Association on “The Great Transformation of Central Eastern Europe: Success and Disappointment”.

The main themes of the congress were: (1) New trends in economics
(2) Understanding the great changes in the world
(3) Economic Reforms in Morocco

The area of theme (1) included issues like:
New results in behavioural economics
New institutional economics

The area of theme (2):
Globalisation and new development in trade theory
Economic development
The first fifteen years of post socialist transition
Honesty and trust

The five day program consisted of:

1. Six distinguished lectures. Contributors to these invited lectures included

The Nobel Prize Laureate Daniel Kahneman on “Utility and Well-Being”
Timur Kuran on “Institutional Causes of Economic Underdevelopment in the Middle East: A Historic Perspective”
Phillipe Aghion on “Higher Education and Academic Research in the Growth Process”
Yingyi Qian and Jinglian Wu on “Transformation in China”
Edmund S. Phelps on “Understanding the Great Changes in the World”
Abhijit Banerjee on “Credit Access and the Poor”.

2. Seven invited sessions organised by:

Claude Menard on “Institutional Design and Economic Performance”
Oded Stark on “The New Economics of the Brain Drain: Analytics, Empirics, and Policy”
Masahiko Aoki on “Mechanism of Institutional Change”
Susan Rose-Ackerman on “Trust and Distrust in Post-socialist Transition: State Capture and Public Accountability”
Jan Svejnar on “15 Years of Post-Socialist Transition”
Herbert Gintis on “The Implications of Experimental Economics For Economic Theory”
Mustafa Nabli on “Is Democracy a Binding Constraint for Economic Growth in the Middle East and North Africa Region?”.

3. One special invited session organised and chaired by Mohamed Chafiki on “Economic Reforms in Morocco”

4. One invited panel discussion Bina Agarwal on “Environmental conservation, Inequality, and Governance of the Common”

5. Sixty four parallel contributed sessions with two hundred forty three contributed papers covering all areas of economics.

The scientific preparation of the Congress was placed under the responsibility of the IEA President, Janos Kornai who was assisted by two co-chairmen, Gérard Roland and Professor Laszlo Matyas, and an International Programme Committee consisting of distinguished economists.

Areas of economics and full list of the Programme Committee are as follows:

History of Economic Thought, Economic History :
Gerardo della Paolera (The American University of Paris, France)
Econometric Theory, Applied Econometrics, Econometric Modeling :
Jaya Krishnakumar (University of Geneva, Switzerland), Timo Terasvirta (University of Stockholm, Sweden) Gabor Kezdi (CEU, Central European University, Hungary)
Economic Theory :
Andreu Mas Colell* (Pompeu Fabra, Spain)
Behavioral Economics and Experimental Economics :
Simon Gaechter (University of Saint Gallen, Switzerland)
House and Income Distribution :
Attila Ratfai (CEU, Hungary)
Law and Economics :
Anthony Dnes (University Hull, UK)
Macroeconomics :
Fabio Canova (Pombeu Fabra, Spain), Eliana Cardoso* (Brazil), Eduardo Engel* (Chile / Yale University USA), Robert Solow* (MIT), Alessandro Vercelli* (University of Sienna, Italy)
International trade :
Peter Benczur (MNB, Hungarian National Bank)
International Economics :
Philip Lane (University of Dublin, Ireland), Jacob Frenkel* (Israel / Merill Lynch UK), Jean-Paul Fitoussi* (OFCE, Paris, France)
Economic Policy (national and international) :
Guillermo Calvo* (University Maryland)
Development Economics :
E.Somanathan (Indian Stat. Inst, India), Heba Handoussa* (ERF, Egypt)
Public Finance and Public Economics :
Ben Lockwood (Univ, Warwick, UK), Kotaro Suzumura* (Hitotsubashi University, Japan), Vitor Constancio* (Bank of Portugal)
Health, Education, Demographics, Urban Economics :
Pierre Pestieau (CORE, Belgium), Maria Augusztinovics* (Institute of Economics Hungarian, Academy of Sciences, Hungary)
Labor Economics, Gender :
Bina Agarwal* (Institue of Economic Growth, India), Fiorella Kostoris Padoa Schioppa* (Rome, Italy)
Industrial Organization :
Patrick Rey (University Toulouse, France)
Economics of Transition :
Stepan Jurajda (CERGE-EI, Czech Republic) Michael Kaser* (U.K.), Wu Jinglian* (Peking University & Chinese Academy of Social Sciences)
Institutional Economics :
Ugo Pagano (University of Sienna, Italy)
Environmental economics :
Barry Field (University of Massachusetts, USA), Michael Hoel* (University of Oslo, Norway)
Agricultural and Resource Economics :
Leo Simon (UC Berkeley, USA)
Computational methods in economics :
Felix Kubler (University of Mannheim, Germany)
North Africa / Moroccan issues :
Mohamed Chafiki (Mohammed V University, Rabat and Ministry of Finance and Privatization, Morocco)

* Members of the IEA Executive Committee, ex-officio members of the Program Committee.
The IEA is most grateful to the Ministry of Finance and Privatisation and other sources in Morocco (Royal Air Maroc, Maroc Telecom, Banques Centrale Populaire and Caisse de Dépôt et de Gestion) who generously agreed to ensure most of the funding of the Congress.

Generous subventions were also provided by (in alphabetical order):

Banca d’Italia
Bank for International Settlements
European Central Bank
Ford Foundation
Inter American Development Bank

Programme Committee: Augustin Fosu (AERC), Chairman
Eliana Cardoso (Center for Latin American Studies, Georgetown University, USA)
Paul Collier (World Bank /AERC)
Mustapha K.Nabli (World Bank)