IEA Awards

Schumpeter-Haberler Distinguished Fellow and the IEA Fellow

The IEA is pleased to announce its decision to institute two honorific titles for life, the Schumpeter-Haberler Distinguished Fellow and the IEA Fellow.
The Schumpeter-Haberler Distinguished Fellow is awarded to a few chosen economists for their contributions to the discipline. Given the stature of the past presidents of the IEA, it was decided to begin by conferring the title to all past presidents. Thereafter, the names of Schumpeter-Haberler Distinguished Fellows will be announced every three years, shortly after each World Congress, starting from 2020, by a committee that will, henceforth, be chaired by Sir Timothy Besley. The objective of the award is to recognize economists who have made outstanding contributions to the discipline, especially in the area of international economic development, and its practice around the world.

The IEA has also instituted the IEA Fellow award with the objective of recognizing excellence in research publications and in research-driven contributions to popular writing, economics curriculum building and policy work. This honorific title is for life and will, hopefully, not just be a recognition for cutting-edge work but also stimulate younger economists around the world, including in developing countries to do better research and influence professionalism in development policymaking.